It’s 2 o’clock in the morning…

… I thought I was done with these early mornings. But alas, this time it is not the result of lack of sleep, but rather having it unwisely misplaced. That is to say, when coming home from college with a normalized 6-hour sleeping period, it’s a bad idea to “nap” at 8 pm. However, there is a blessing to every curse… I simply have yet to find one. 

The reason why I slept so early was because I was thoroughly physically exhausted. For the first time in weeks I went out for a run (a choice that probably should have been amended by sticking to a treadmill, giving how much my left knee is aching now), and it was glorious. I didn’t go far, and compared to my usual sprinting speed I honestly felt like I was plodding along. The wonderful thing about it though was that there was so much life around me. Everyone was taking advantage of the lovely, early summer afternoon: what looked to be a huge black family reunion, a college quidditch team, a young girl with her grandfather flying a kite, and so many, many children, either at the birthday party or in the playground. And that was all just in my direct line of vision.

At the very least, I’m glad I went out to experience that. It’s not something I would normally do, to be honest, but taking advantage of a day like today and running for the hell of it in the middle of such a warm and pleasant day… it was perfect. I thank God for it.

Half of the reason why it was necessary was because of the war I was fighting at home. It’s odd to me that I feel more at home at school than I do at home; that I relate more to the people I took classes with for the past two years than to the people I grew up with for, well, my entire life. It is true that I’m somewhat of the “black sheep” in my family, but I guess in my optimistic state of mind I figured that things wouldn’t be as strikingly… off. It may be that I grew so much in God while I was gone that I’ve become an anomaly to my family. I guess I’ll just have to deal with that.

Tagged , , ,

One thought on “It’s 2 o’clock in the morning…

  1. The title had me! The post itself wasn’t bad either 🙂

Leave a comment